top of page

Leading with Purpose: Betty Ward Cooper's Vision for Youth Development in Monroe, Louisiana

As an educator, I've always believed in the power of investing in our youth. Recently, at a mayoral forum, a group of young attendees approached me, asking for a photo together. It was a simple moment, but it reminded me of something profound: the youth are always watching, and they are counting on us, the leaders of today, to pave the way for a better tomorrow. This reaffirmed my commitment to prioritize youth development at the core of my campaign for Mayor of Monroe, Louisiana.


Throughout my career as an educator, I've witnessed firsthand the challenges our youth face and the transformative impact of proactive support. That's why I am deeply committed to collaborating closely with our school system to create and sustain year-round programs specifically designed for at-risk youth. Every child deserves the opportunity to thrive, and it's our responsibility to provide them with the resources they need to succeed.


In addition to these programs, I am proud to announce that, if elected, I will allocate a minimum of One Million Dollars annually in grants to churches and non-profit organizations within the city. These funds will be directed towards providing educational, workforce development, and recreational opportunities, empowering our young residents to realize their full potential.


My lifelong dedication as an educator has taught me the importance of investing in our youth early on, rather than dealing with the consequences of neglect later. By nurturing their talents and ambitions from the outset, we can prevent many of the challenges they may face down the road, including incarceration.

But I can't do this alone. I need your support. Together, we can make a real difference in the lives of our youth and the future of our city. Join me in this crucial endeavor by getting involved today. Visit this link to learn how you can contribute to our cause.


Let's show our youth that we believe in them, that we are invested in their success, and that we are dedicated to building a brighter future for Monroe, Louisiana. Together, we can make it happen.


19 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page